Announcement of the 2004 ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

The selection committee for the SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that Dr. Makoto Yokoo of the NTT Communication Science Laboratories is the recipient of the 2004 award. Dr. Yokoo has made significant and sustained contributions to the research on autonomous agents and multi agent systems. In particular, Dr. Yokoo made seminal contributions to the area of distributed constraint satisfaction, which has become a flourishing research area in multi agent systems. Dr. Yokoo has also contributed to the areas of mechanism design in anonymous environments and secure protocols for combinatorial optimization problems. In addition to his substantial research contributions, Dr. Yokoo has served the autonomous agents research community, most recently as a Technical Program co-chair of the Second International Conference on Autonomous Agents and Multi Agent systems (AAMAS 2003) and has been a leading figure in the autonomous agents community in Japan and Asia/Pacific Rim.

Katia Sycara
Carnegie Mellon University
Chair of the selection committee

About the award

ACM SIGART, in collaboration with the International Conference on Autonomous Agents, has instituted an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. Award winners will receive an honorarium and will be invited to give a talk at the annual Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems (AAMAS) Conference. This award is specifically intended to recognize researchers whose current research is influencing the field. Award candidates will therefore be evaluated based on the quality and significance of their research contributions over the last five years. It is expected that at least some of these contributions should have been reported at one or more Autonomous Agents or AAMAS conferences. Previous winners of the SIGART Autonomous Research Award were Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001).